paris: tour eiffel.

Ah, the real reason I came to Paris. One of my favorite bands sing about it. My husband propsed on top of it. I have a tattoo of it. The tour eiffel. Such a beauty.

The first day we were there, we saw it from the River Seine, but it was so foggy you can hardly see it. My heart fluttered a little at it’s sight. The following day we went to visit her up close. We took the metro to the Trocadéro stop, and walked around the palace and all of a sudden: WHAM! there she is! My heart sank. It was raining at this point, but I didn’t really seem to notice. I couldn’t believe that right there in front of me was the eiffel tower. And even though I have seen it quite a few times before this, it was like I was seeing her for the first time.

This trip we visited three times. Once in the rain/fog. The next morning it was sunny out (rare for paris this time of year), so we headed there to see her in the sunshine. On my birthday we visited at night. Every hour, for the first five minutes, she twinkles! How magical. The night we saw her twinkle, we also climbed Sacré-Coeur so we can see her twinkle from afar. I couldn’t think of a better way to celebrate my birthday that night!

I have traveled quite a bit over the last 15 years or so, and I don’t think there is much that has made me stop and ponder the way the eiffel tower does.

Leave a Reply

